Richland County Rules & Resolutions Committee

Agenda Item Cover

Department	n/a (County Board)	Presented By:	Shaun Murphy-Lopez
Date of Meeting:	3/4/21	Action Needed:	Resolution
Disclosure:	Open Session	Authority:	Committee Structure, Section D
Date submitted:	3/1/21	Referred by:	None

Agenda Item Name: Recognition of Long Serving Municipal Elected Officials

Recommendation and/or action language:

Recommend a motion, to present a resolution to the County Board recognizing the contributions of longserving municipal board members in Richland County.

Background:

Recently State Senator Howard Marklein recognized Richland County resident Marilyn Williamson for her service as the Town of Eagle Treasurer for 34 years. Subsequently, clerks in each of Richland County's 16 townships, five villages, and one city were contacted to determine if any other elected officials have served their municipality for 20 or more years. Richland County official directories were also consulted in the County Clerk's office, to verify or fill in missing information.

The longest serving municipal official in Richland County is the Town of Sylvan Clerk Judy Murphy, who has been in office since 1975 (46 years). Other elected officials who have served more than 40 years include Yuba President Jim Huffman (44 years), Yuba Treasurer Janet Bladl (44 years), Orion Treasurer Judy Shadewald (42 years), Westford Treasurer Sonya Klang (42 years), and Yuba Trustee Ron Bladl (42 years).

These elected officials, as well as additional people listed in the chart below, have earned our respect and gratitude for their years of dedication to the residents of Richland County.

Municipality	Individual	Years Served	Role
Town of Bloom	Calvin Brown	30	Chair (1991 –
			present)
Town of Eagle	Marilyn Williamson	34	Treasurer (1985 –
			2019)
Town of Henrietta	Verlin Coy	34	Chair (1987 –
			present)
Town of Marshall	Steven Chupp	23	Supervisor (1998 –
			present)
Town of Marshall	Jerome Durst	20	Chair (2001 –
			present)
Town of Orion	Judy Shadewald	42	Treasurer (1979 –
			present)
Town of Richland	David Jelinek	28	Supervisor (1993 –
			2015); Chair (2015 –
			present)
Town of Rockbridge	Scott Banker	30	Supervisor (1991 –
			1997); Chair (1997 –
			present)

Richland County Rules & Resolutions Committee

Agenda Item Cover

Town of Rockbridge	Don Clark	28	Supervisor (1993 –
			present)
Town of Sylvan	Judy Murphy	46	Clerk (1975 –
			present)
Town of Westford	Sonya Klang	42	Treasurer (1979 –
			present)
Town of Westford	John Scheahan	34	Supervisor (1987 –
			2021)
Village of Boaz	Jean Nicks	21	Trustee (2000 –
			2014), President
			(2014 – present)
Village of Cazenovia	Mike Adelman	38	Trustee (1983 –
			present)
Village of Cazenovia	Steve Bauer	30	Trustee (1991 –
			present)
Village of Cazenovia	Tim Hanko	33	Trustee (1988 –
			present)
Village of Cazenovia	Robin Landsinger	20	Clerk (2000 –
			present)
Village of Cazenovia	Mary Shields	20	Treasurer (2000 –
			present)
Village of Viola	Kent Kanable	23	Trustee (1998 –
			present)
Village of Yuba	Janet Bladl	44	Treasurer (1973 –
			2017)
Village of Yuba	Ron Bladl	42	Trustee (1978 –
-			2020)
Village of Yuba	Jim Huffman	44	Trustee (1977 –
			2001) President
			(2001 - 2021)

Attachments and References:

Financial Review:

(please check one)				
	In adopted budget	Fund Number		
	Apportionment needed	Requested Fund Number		
	Other funding Source			
Х	No financial impact			

Approval:

Review:

Department Head

Administrator, or Elected Office (if applicable)